free shipping - safe payment - money back guarantee

Do you like the product? If so, just tell it to your friends!

Description

This romantic story of hope, chance, and change from the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one JENNY HAN says is filled with all of her "favorite things," MORGAN MATSON calls "something wonderful" and STEPHANIE PERKINS says "is rich with the intensity of real love."

Alice has never believed in luck, but that doesn't stop her from rooting for love. After pining for her best friend Teddy for years, she jokingly gifts him a lottery ticket-attached to a note professing her love-on his birthday. Then, the unthinkable happens: he actually wins.

At first, it seems like the luckiest thing on earth. But as Teddy gets swept up by his $140 million windfall and fame and fortune come between them, Alice is forced to consider whether her stroke of good fortune might have been anything but.

She bought a winning lottery ticket. He collected the cash. Will they realize that true love's the real prize?

Featured in Seventeen Magazine's "What's Hot Now"

"Windfall is about all of my favorite things-a girl's first big love, her first big loss, and-her first big luck."
-JENNY HAN, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before

"Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful."
-MORGAN MATSON, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

"Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love- in all its heartache and hope."
-STEPHANIE PERKINS, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After

"If you're looking for your next great read, then you're in 'luck!'" -Justine Magazine

Review

"Windfall is about all of my favorite things-a girl's first big love, her first big loss, and-her first big luck." -JENNY HAN, New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I've Loved Before

"Windfall is perfectly named; reading it, I felt like I had suddenly found something wonderful. It's a story about love, and luck, and the way our lives can change in an instant. I laughed and cried and bought a lottery ticket the very next day." -MORGAN MATSON, New York Times bestselling author of The Unexpected Everything

"Windfall is rich with the intensity of real love-in all its heartache and hope." -STEPHANIE PERKINS, New York Times bestselling author of Isla and the Happily Ever After

"Windfall is an absolutely brilliant story...you will def want to add this gem to your TBR pile."
-SUSANE COLASANTI, bestselling author of When It Happens

"Smith's dynamic characters and their complex struggles...will keep readers invested." -Publishers Weekly

"Smith weaves a poignant tale of teens coping with loss and change as they balance on the verge of adulthood...Fans of Morgan Matson's and Deb Caletti's books will want to curl up with a box of tissues as they fall under Smith's storytelling spell." -School Library Journal

"[T]his compelling read, gracefully told, raises issues seldom explored in popular fiction. How can we rationalize life's inequalities? What do we owe, and to whom, when blessed with good fortune? Smart and entertaining, as to be expected from Smith." -Kirkus Reviews

"Smith taps into the relatable feelings of young love...she skillfully juxtaposes these romantic complications with the struggles of newfound wealth; family and friend conflicts; and each teen's internal wrestling with the past, present, and future." -VOYA

More Praise for Jennifer E. Smith
"Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between is the love story of Clare and Aidan, high school sweethearts who spend one last day together before college separates them, possibly forever. It's also the love story of good friends, of home, of what used to be and what's to come. This latest stunner from Jennifer E. Smith will linger in your aching heart. (But it's a good ache. The best kind.) It's an ache that comes from characters who are so real they breathe, and a relatable story that generates feels-lots of them-on every page." -Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places

"Smith captures the romantic sparks that fly in unusual situations and the way love can build even when circumstances keep people apart. If you like your romances with a bit of European adventure, some New York glamour, and a lot of honest heart, The Geography of You and Me is for you." -E. Lockhart, New York Times bestselling author of We Were Liars

"A gorgeous, heartwarming reminder of the power of fate." -The New York Times Book Review on The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Excerpt

One When the man behind the counter asks for my lucky number, I hesitate. "You must have one," he says, his pen hovering over the rows of bubbles on the form. "Everyone does." But the problem is this: I don't believe in luck. At least not the good kind. "Or it could be anything, really," he says, leaning forward on the counter. "I just need five numbers. And here's the trick. The big secret. You ready?" I nod, trying to look like I do this all the time, like I didn't just turn eighteen a few weeks ago, like this isn't my first time buying a lottery ticket. "You have to make them really, really good ones." "Okay then," I say with a smile, surprised to find myself playing along. I planned to let the computer decide, to put my faith in randomness. But now a number floats to the surface with such ease that I offer it up to him before thinking better of it. "How about thirty-one?" Teddy's birthday. "Thirty-one," the man repeats as he scratches out the corresponding bubble. "Very promising." "And eight," I tell him. My birthday. Behind me, there's a line of people waiting to buy their own tickets, and I can practically feel their collective impatience. I glance up at the sign above the counter, where three numbers are glowing a bright red. "Three-eighty-two," I say, pointing at the display. "Is that millions?" The man nods and my mouth falls open. "That's how much you can win?" "You can't win anything," he points out, "unless you pick some more numbers." "Right," I say with a nod. "Twenty-four, then." Teddy's basketball number. "And eleven." His apartment number. "And nine." The number of years we've been friends. "Great," says the man. "And the Powerball?" "What?" "You need to pick a Powerball number." I frown at him. "You said five before." "Yeah, five plus the Powerball." The sign above the counter clicks forward: 383. It's an amount nearly too big to mean anything--an impossible, improbable figure. I take a deep breath, trying to shuffle through the numbers in my head. But only one keeps appearing again and again, like some kind of awful magic trick. "Thirteen," I say, half-expecting something to happen. In my mind the word is full of voltage, white-hot and charged. But out loud it sounds like any other, and the man only glances up at me with a doubtful look. "Really?" he asks. "But that's unlucky." "It's just a number," I say, even though I know that's not true, even though I don't believe it one bit. What I know is this: numbers are shifty things. They rarely tell the whole story. Still, when he hands over the slip of paper--that small square of illogical math and pure possibility--I tuck it carefully into the pocket of my coat. Just in case. Two Outside, Leo is waiting. It's started to snow, the flakes heavy and wet, and they settle thickly over his dark hair and the shoulders of his jacket. "All set?" he asks, already starting to walk in the direction of the bus stop. I hurry after him, skidding a little in the fresh snow. "Do you have any idea how much this ticket could be worth?" I say, still trying to get my head around the number. Leo raises his eyebrows. "A million?" "No." "Two?" "Three hundred and eighty-three million," I tell him, then add, in case it isn't entirely clear: "Dollars." "That's only if you win," he says, grinning. "Most people get nothing but a piece of paper." I feel for the ticket in my pocket. "Still," I say, as we arrive at the three-sided shelter of the bus stop. "It's kind of crazy, isn't it?" We sit down on the bench, our breath making clouds that hang in the air before disappearing. The snow has a sting to it, and the wind off the lake is icy and sharp. We scoot closer together for warmth. Leo is my cousin, but really he feels more like my brother. I've been living with his family ever since I was

Annotation

Alice doesnt believe in good luck. But she does believe in love, and shes been pining for her best friend, Teddy. On his eighteenth birthday, she buys him a lottery ticket. To their astonishment, he wins $140 million, and everything changes. The money starts to feel like more of a curse than a windfall. Alice learns about the unexpected ways in which luck and love sometimes intersect.

Contributors

Author Jennifer E. Smith

Product Details

DUIN 8MUEOH08AII

GTIN 9781524764715

Release Date 18.04.2017

Language English

Pages 432

Product type Paperback

Dimension 8.27 x 7.13 x 1.14  inches

Product Weight 14.92 ounces

Windfall

Jennifer E. Smith

£10.90

Seller: Dodax

Delivery date: between Wednesday, October 7 and Friday, October 9

Condition: New

Check other buying options

VAT included - FREE Shipping
1
ADD TO CART ADD TO CART
£10.90
Check other buying options VAT included - FREE Shipping