Dodax

Search amongst 1851849 Articles

£8.01 All prices include VAT Free delivery
Add to Cart Buy It Now Save for later

Select your Price

Dodax EU
Price £8.01
Delivery till Friday, 25.08.2017
Dodax
Price £9.90
Delivery till Thursday, 31.08.2017

description

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER SHORTLISTED FOR THE WELLCOME BOOK PRIZE 2017 'Finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option...Unmissable' New York Times At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity - the brain - and finally into a patient and a new father. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away? Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.

contributors

Author: Paul Kalanithi

Annotation

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decades training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.For readers of Henry MarshsDO NO HARM, this unforgettably powerful and heart-breaking book about how to live is a NEW YORK TIMES number one bestseller.

Review

" A vital book about dying. Awe-inspiring and exquisite. Obligatory reading for the living. " Nigella Lawson